Debbah Calls 19 Foreign-based Players for Upcoming AFCON Qualifiers

The Technical Staff of the National Football Team, the Lone Star under the leadership of Coach James Salinsa Debbah has invited 19 foreign-based players for Liberia’s crunch back-to-back African Nations Cup qualifiers against Djibouti later this month.

According to a release from the Liberia Football Association (LFA), 10 of the players play their club football in Europe, five (5) play in Asia, three (3) play in Africa, and one (1) plays in the United States.

Notable among the players invited are forwards William Jebor of SD Ponferradina (Spain), Sam Johnson of Djurgårdens (Sweden) and Patrick “Ronaldinho” Wleh of Selangor FA, Malaysia. Notable midfielders are Anthony Laffor (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Zah Kranga (FELDA United, Malaysia) and Norway-based Dulee Johnson (Molde FK) who is making his return to the national team after a long absence.

Coach Debbah has also called up six (6) local based players to complete a strong 25 man squad for the two games that will be played this month.

Liberia travel to Djibouti on Thursday, March 24th while the return leg is five days later on Tuesday, March 29th at the Antoinette Tubman Stadium in Monrovia.

Se the full listing below:

1. Tommy Songo (LISCR, Liberia)
2. Samson Giddings (FC Fassell, Liberia)
3. James Gally (Watanga FC, Liberia)

4. Solomon Grimes (Nea Salamis Famagusta, Cyprus)
5. Trokon Zeon (LPRC Oilers, Liberia)
6. Gizzie Dorbor (Hapoel Afula, Israel)
7. Hilton Varney (Barrack Young Controllers, Liberia)
8. Teah Dennis (Al-Ahli, Jordan)
9. Dirkir Glay (Mpumalanga Black Aces, South Africa)
10. Omega Roberts (FK Donji Srem Pecinci, Serbia)
11. Alvin Macconough (Barrack Young Controllers, Liberia)

12. Alsény Keita (Jeanne d’Arc de Drancy, France)
13. Dulee Johnson (Molde FK, Norway)
14. Anthony Laffor (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa)
15. Theo Weeks (Ermis Aradippou, Cyprus)
16. Dioh Williams (Gefle IF, Sweden)
17. Zah Kranga (FELDA United, Malaysia)
18. Tonia Tisdell (Karsiyaka / Karabükspor, Turkey)
19. Kpah Sherman (Santos FC Cape Town, South Africa)
20. Melvin George (Hantharwady United FC, Myanmar)
21. Marcus Macauley (Al Ahli, Jordan)

22. William Jebor (SD Ponferradina, Spain)
23. Sam Johnson (Djurgårdens, Sweden)
24. Patrick Wleh (Selangor FA, Malaysia)
25. Sekou Conneh (Bethlehem Steel FC, USA)