FC Fassell Wins LFA Cup

FC Fassell Crowned Champions of the 2013/2014 LFA Cup

By: FC Fassell Media

Newly promoted LFA First Division side, FC Fassell pinned top flight outfit, NPA Anchors 1-0 to lift this year’s LFA Cup trophy. A seventh minute goal by Amos Kollie was more than enough to crown the Soccer Missionaries as the 2013/14 LFA Cup Champions.

Both sides started the match on good notes, but it was FC Fassell who got the better chance via stylish winger, Bruce Blaty, who brilliantly got past his marker and squarely played the ball to an unmarked Amos Kollie, who without any hesitation placed the ball pass the vulnerable NPA goalie.

Afterwards, the Anchors took control of the midfield but were denied several times by the stubborn FC Fassell defense of Albert Nimely, Joseph Broh, Bill Gayflor and Aloysius Simujla.

In the second half, the game became balanced with both teams playing at the same tempo but the score line remained 1-0 in favor of the Soccer Missionaries to clinch the Cup.

The final was Fassell first experience since its establishment in 2009 and the victory automatically qualified FC Fassell as one of Liberia’s representatives in next season CAF competitions. On the road to the final, the Soccer Missionaries eliminated the likes of Sime Darby FC, Red Lions FC and LPRC Oilers.